4 Reasons I’m a Writer

So I didn’t grow up knowing that I’d be a professional writer. All I knew was that I loved to write and that I could impress a few souls with my stories (since elementary school). I did not get a degree or diploma in writing, preferring to let experience move me along, and today, I can safely say that I’m doing exactly what I want to do – that’s happiness.

Readers and newer writers often ask me why I chose this career – one that has a reputation for paying peanuts among other things. Here’s what I say to them:

1. Although all writers are not introverts, being a writer is a great option for people like me who can get exhausted from too much human interaction. Of course I spend huge amounts of my time talking to and learning from other writers, but being stuck in an office full of people 5 days a week isn’t my thing. Believe me, I tried it.

2. We spend a large part of our lives working, so it is wise to be involved in work that you are passionate about. Being passionate about writing means that I can talk about writing, publishing, books every waking minute. I think writing. I dream writing. I talk writing. And I write. Basically, I live in my own world of stories, writing, blogs, and publishing.

3. The ability to create something makes you feel like you’re making a difference. For instance, when my stories for children are published, I know that some kids are reading them and laughing that day. That’s important. Or when somebody told me they read my first book on parenting teen daughters and felt less alone while handling teen tantrums at home – yay, I had made a teeny tiny difference in someone’s life!

4. Books are my world. I have been a book worm since I could read. No, it actually started with my mother reading books to me when I was unable to read myself. Weekend trips to the library and later on, the bookstore, were highlights in my childhood. With my book addiction, it is hardly a wonder that I always wanted to see a book or two or more with my name on the cover 🙂

Any other writers here? Why are you a writer?

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “4 Reasons I’m a Writer

  1. I loved dissolving self into fairy tales and comics as a kid. Mom used to read the fairy tales at night to put me to sleep. Those colorful images of Cindrella, peter pan, hansel and gratel are still fresh in mind. Time flew by and works of Mr. RK Narayan (Malgudi days) filled the world. One fine day, the heart made the pen and paper its friend hoping to live the life through the characters that shaped from the pen.

Leave a Reply

